Applecot Sauce


Applecot Sauce

Originally uploaded by nsaid

Sunday was a trip to Trader Joes on Penn Avenue in East Liberty. Mark had never been there so I got to share that with him. Yesterday was his first trip to Delallo’s, so I’ve been happy to share these little “grocery” experiences with him.

I wanted to continue my culinary fun so we picked some nice pork chops, dried apricots and apples, fresh green beans, and some plain couscous (not to mention the dark chocolate covered blueberries to complete our blueberry weekend, haha). Sunday dinner then was Grilled Apple-Brown Sugar Pork Chops, Savory Couscous, Italian Green Beans and the Applecot Sauce.

The applecot recipe comes from an older cookbook entitled “The Modern Family Cook Book” by Meta Given. The edition I have was published in 1945. I made this recipe for my daughters quite awhile ago and they enjoyed it. I wanted something fresh and summery so I made it again. I did have a few variations…I added some cinnamon and a touch of brown sugar to the recipe and after cooking & cooling, I hit it up in the food processor to chop it so nicely. Quite tasty!

Mark grilled the pork chops after I marinated them for a couple of hours. We really enjoyed them! The green beans were cooked and quickly sauteed in butter and garlic, with seasoned bread crumbs and freshly grated Parmesan cheese added at the end. The couscous also involved garlic and minced onions cooked in butter, some chicken stock and chopped parsley. Nice dinner. Teresa was home for dinner tonight. A nice glass of Riesling rounded out the meal.

I do love my culinary adventure weekends! I do love sharing them with Mark as well as my daughters and their boyfriends.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by mwhit14 on July 27, 2010 at 12:54 am

    And Mark loves the food, too! Your blog is off to an awesome start!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

