Blueberry Crumb Pie


Blueberry Crumb Pie

Originally uploaded by nsaid

Saturday was a glorious day. Mark and I traveled around looking for the fruits of the season. We kept an eye open for the vegetables, too. First stop was the Lion’s Club Farmers Market in Monroeville, at Gateway High School. Not a large selection but we bought some fresh bread (Cranberry Walnut Whole Wheat–still warm) and some produce–zucchini, corn on th cob, fresh garlic & onions. We piously ignored the cookies, cinnamon rolls and other baked good delectables on display.

We ventured farther east and stopped at Delallo’s in Jeannette, the Italian market. Oh the treasures we beheld! Fresh corn with homemade butter was being offered to shoppers to sample; it was simply wonderful. Blueberries were on display, 2 pints for $3; what a bargain! Surely there was something I could make with 2 pints of blueberries–I began a mental scrolling of cobbler and buckle recipes, despite the 92 degree heat of the day.

We picked up a hunk of imported parmesan cheese, some of the homemade butter–and we dropped our pious blindfold and grabbed a fresh baked pepperoni roll and a sausage-asiago roll. Oh heck. How could one resist?!

Once at home, I reviewed my blueberry recipes and opted for a Blueberry Crumb Pie, combining two different recipes. Becca and Dan stopped over just as I was popping it into the oven. They ended up staying for dinner. Dinner was a triumph if I do say so myself! Grilled peanut butter chicken skewers, sauteed zucchini with garlic and herbs, corn on the cob and of course the blueberry crumb pie with vanilla ice cream.

Mary and Alex had also stopped over to visit but they didn’t stay for dinner. Their loss! Teresa came home from work at 10PM and she had some pie and chicken too. Reno was home much later and was too tired to eat. That’s noteworthy in itself. I don’t think I’ve ever heard him say that before.

A glorious summer day indeed. I got to visit with all of my children, I produced some delicious food, the cats behaved, and Mark and I spent the day together.

Leave a Reply

